Record Details

Catalog Search

Search Results Showing Item 10 of 107

O my America! : six women and their second acts in a new world / Sara Wheeler.

Wheeler, Sara, (author.).

Available copies

  • 3 of 4 copies available at Evergreen Indiana. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Greenwood Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 4 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Greenwood PL - Greenwood 973.9 WHE (Text) 36626103476644 Adult Nonfiction Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 0374298815 (hardcover) :
  • ISBN: 9780374298814 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 1466836903 (e-book)
  • ISBN: 9781466836907 (e-book)
  • Physical Description: xvii, 281 pages : illustrations, map ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First American edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013.

Content descriptions

General Note: "Originally published, in somewhat different form, in 2013 by Jonathan Cape, Great Britain, as O my America! : second acts in a New World"--Title page verso.
Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Formatted Contents Note: Merely telling the truth : Fanny Trollope goes to Ohio -- Brave new world : Fanny Kemble goes to Georgia -- A great embryo poet: Harriet Martineau goes to Massachusetts and Kentucky -- Is this America? : Rebecca Burlend goes to Illinois -- Above love and hate : Isabella Bird goes to Colorado -- No there there : Catherine Hubback goes to California.
Summary, etc.: Traces the steps of six women--author Fanny Trollope, actress Fanny Kemble, economist Harriet Martineau, homesteader Rebecca Burlend, traveler Isabella Bird, and novelist Catherine Hubback--who came to America in the nineteenth century to start new lives.
Subject: British > United States > History > 19th century.
Women travelers > United States > History > 19th century.
Women travelers > United States > Biography.
United States > Social conditions > 19th century.
Search Results Showing Item 10 of 107

Additional Resources